Old Windsor Tapestry Manufactory

Date 24 August 2012
Source Slough Observer
Reference VP-0041
Volume Views of the Past
Collection Views of the Past

Transcript

Hub of Royal approval

Email Elias with feedback and your memories on observernews@berksmedia.co.uk

DURING the late 19th century, Old Windsor was a main hub of the arts and crafts industry, including the Royal Windsor Tapestry Manufactory which, under Royal patronage, manufactured beautiful tapestries from 1876–1890.

The Old Windsor Tapestry Manufactory was founded in 1876 by two Frenchmen, Marcel Brignolas who became manager and Henri Henry became the director of the manufactory.

Henri Henry was also art director of Gillows of Oxford Street, London, famous for its luxury furnishings and furniture.

The tapestry received Royal approval from Queen Victoria and her son, Prince Leopold, became president.

Weavers were brought over from the famous weaving works at Aubusson in France. Their looms, originally four, were set up in a building known as Manor Lodge in the Straight Road in Old Windsor.

In 1882, they moved into a new purpose-built manufactory, which included 12 cottages for employees and a large central hall with a gallery for displaying completed tapestries.

The first tapestry produced was a portrait of Queen Victoria. This was followed by a work commissioned by Gillows and consisted of eight tapestries depicting scenes from Shakespeare’s Merry Wives Of Windsor designed by TW Hay.

The success of the tapestry led to Queen Victoria sending down tapestries from Holyrood House for repair and later actual commissions.

Queen Victoria allowed the name to be changed to The Royal Windsor Tapestry Manufactory.

A large number of tapestries were designed by artists, including Mrs EM Ward of Upton Park, Slough.

The tapestries depicted a multitude of different scenes both historical and contemporary, including a tapestry of Romeo and Juliet where the faces of the actors, Henry Irving and Ellen Terry, were used.

After Prince Leopold’s death in 1884, the works went into decline as a new rival tapestry had been set up by William Morris, who used Edward Burne-Jones as designer.

By 1888, there were no more weavers left in Old Windsor, some of whom went to work for William Morris.

The works finally closed on Christmas Eve in 1890. The Tapestry manufactory complex was sold off and the Tapestry Hall became Old Windsor’s Village Hall for a short while before being turned into flats.

ARTISTIC FLAIR: The Royal Windsor Tapestry Manufactory in 1883.


Images

24 Aug 2012; Slough Observer